top of page
Search
  • thepandemicarchive

Maryanne Braine

May 2nd, 2020 in Ohio.


Image 1: “Self Portrait in Isolation, I” made on May 2nd, 2020.⁣

Image 2: “Self Portrat in Isolation, II” made on May 2nd, 2020.⁣⁣

Image 3: “Self Portrait in Isolation, III” made on ⁣May 2nd, 2020.⁣


⁣Photographs by artist Maryanne Braine


A note from the artist: “Humanity has been thrust into a time of uncertainty. I've been lucky enough to remain employed and have the ability to work from my family's home. Despite this privilege, I've been struggling to keep my own mind quiet and my anxiety at bay.⁣

I find myself asking unanswerable questions, making plans that likely won't come to fruition, and feeling the weight of my chest become heavier the longer I'm isolated from my community. ⁣

Our world looks more different every day and much of the damage that has been done to people's lives and our communities will be hard to reverse. It's been hard to sit with how long this will last and what the world will look like once we finally get to the other side. ⁣

In this moment, I'm still standing, but it's harder to see anything clearly.”⁣



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page